Skip to content
Share Facebook Twitter Whatsapp Email

Singapore Hockey Federation will be organizing the 4th Womens’ Asian Champions Trophy in Seng Kang Sports and Recreation Centre from 29 October to 5 November 2016.

This year’s edition of the tournament will see five teams competing for the gold. Korea, China, Japan and India, fresh off the Olympic Games will be joined by the former Womens’ Asian Champions Trophy bronze medalists, Malaysia.

First introduced in 2010 to create an opportunity for teams to gather more high-level competition experience, the Women’s Asian Champions Trophy has taken place three times so far, for the last time in 2013. In past Asian Champions Trophy editions, Korea has been the most successful team with two Asian Champions Trophy golds, while Japan has medaled in each edition, claiming silver in 2010, bronze in 2011 and finally, gold in 2013. All teams participating in this year’s event have participated in a Women’s Asian Champions Trophy at least once before, and reached the podium at least once, which suggests competition will be fierce.

The Asian Champions Trophy 2016 will follow a round robin format, with each team playing each other once, followed by gold and bronze medal matches.

In the spirit of the competition, Singapore Hockey Federation has planned a series of local, self-organized events that will bring both the hockey fraternity and families together to create an inclusive and enjoyable fan experience.

Download the Match Schedule.