Skip to content

Finalists for 2014 Singapore Sports Awards unveiled

Share Facebook Twitter Whatsapp Email

Singapore Sports Awards 2014

(Clockwise from top left) Peter Edward Gilchrist (cuesports), Feng Tianwei (table tennis), Shayna Ng (bowling) and Joseph Schooling (swimming) are amongst the finalists of the 2014 Singapore Sports Awards nominees.

The Singapore Sports Awards (SSA) Selection Committees revealed the finalists of the 2014 Singapore Sports Awards nominees today. Organised by the Singapore National Olympic Council (SNOC) and Sport Singapore (SportSG), and supported by Tote Board, the Singapore Sports Awards honour the most deserving individuals and teams in sports for the year 2013.

The main awards selection committee was chaired by Mr Teo Chee Hean, Deputy Prime Minister, Co-ordinating Minister for National Security and Minister for Home Affairs and President of the SNOC. Dr Tan Eng Liang, Vice President of the SNOC, chaired the selection committee for the Sportsboy/Sportsgirl awards while Mr Low Teo Ping, Vice President of the SNOC, headed the selections for the Best Sports Events awards (local and international).

The Most Inspiring Sports Story of the Year selection committee was led by Mr Jose Raymond, Chief Executive Officer of the Singapore Environment Council. The winners will be announced at the Singapore Sports Awards presentation ceremony on Saturday, 7 June 2014, at 7.00pm at Orchard Hotel.

For the main awards, the National Sports Associations were invited to nominate candidates for the awards following a set of guidelines for rating and eligibility criteria which consider factors such as the achievements of the nominees. The selection committees then selected the finalists and cast their votes via a secret ballot to determine the winners. The results will be tabulated by independent auditing firm KPMG for announcement on the day of the awards.

Of the 11 awards, eight were finalised by the SNOC. The finalists for the three awards, Best Sports Events of the Year awards for both local and international categories, and the Most Inspiring Sports Story of the Year, were judged and managed by guidelines and criteria set by SportSG. At the awards ceremony, 36 meritorious awards will also be presented to 11 sports.

At the awards ceremony, the SNOC will present the IOC Trophy to honour a prominent individual or organisation within the sporting community who has made significant contributions to sports. For 2013, the IOC presents the IOC Trophy with the theme – “150 Years, Pierre de Coubertin, Sport as a School of Life”.

“We have received many commendable nominations this year which made it an arduous task for the selection committees to finalise the list. It is heartening to see nominees who have consistently performed well making the list as well as new faces making their debut. I am sure the sport community will be eagerly anticipating the announcement of the winners at this year’s Singapore Sports Awards,” said Mr Milan Kwee, Chairman of the 2014 Singapore Sports Awards Organising Committee.

Singapore Sports Awards 2014 Finalists


Awards Category




Sportsman of the Year

Peter Edward Gilchrist




Joseph Isaac Schooling



Sportswoman of the Year

Shayna Ng Lin Zhi




Feng Tianwei

Table Tennis


Sportsboy of the Year

Muhammad Jaris Goh Bin Ali Akbar Goh




Loh Jia Yi




Muhammad Nur Alfian Bin Juma'en




Quah Zheng Wen



Sportsgirl of the Year

Janine Khoo Su Pheng



Bertha Han Jing




Martina Lindsay P Veloso




Ho Lin Ying



Coach of the Year

Sheng Shi Jie




Jing Junhong

Table Tennis



Babella Balazs




Fernando Javier Alegre Arbulu



Team of the Year (Event)

Kimberly Lim Min
Savannah Siew Kiah Hui

Sailing (420 Women's Team - 420 World C'ship 2013)



Feng Tianwei
Yu Mengyu

Table Tennis (Women's Doubles - World Championships 2013)


Team of the Year (Team Sport)

Tay Sin Chao, Nigel

Lin Diyang

Loh Zhi Zhi

Teo Zhen Wei, Eugene

Lim Yao Xiang

Tan Jwee Ann Paul  Louis

Chiam Kunyang

Yu Nan-Feng Samuel Moses

Toh Zhi Hong

Ang Wei Ming, Sean

Yi Yang

Koh Jian Ying

Quek Ruisheng, Byron

Water Polo



Goh Kok Chiang Delvin
Hong Wei Jian
Khaw Yeong Wooi
Larry Liew Hua Sen
Lim Shengyu
Low Wenqiang Russel
Ng Hanbin
Oh Wei Jie Desmond
Su Mingrong Jabez
Tan Chin Hong
Wong Wei Long
Wu Qingde



Sportsboy/Sportsgirl Team of the Year (Event)

*There was only one finalist in this category.

Optimist World Championship Team
Loh Jia Yi

Edward Tan Yi Zhu

Koh Yi Kun

Bertha Han Jing

Fathin Rasyiqin Bte Mohd Firdaus



Best Sports Event of the Year (Local)

Standard Chartered Marathon Singapore 2013

Great Eastern Women’s Run 2013

DBS Marina Regatta 2013


Best Sports Event of the Year (International)

Extreme Sailing Series™ 2013 – Act 2 Singapore

HSBC Women’s Champions 2013

OCBC Cycle Singapore 2013


Most Inspiring Sports Story of the Year

Singapore cerebral palsy footballer Harun Rahamad takes his flight global – Justin Ong, Yahoo Singapore

Navy man’s 1.67m dream – Low Lin Fhoong, TODAY

Future’s still in her hands –  May Chen, The Straits Times

Limbs lost but she finds new hope – Rohit Brijnath, The Straits Times

A high-flyer, in every sense –  David Lee, The New Paper

Singapore Sports Council logo

Live Better Through Sport - Sport Singapore recognises the value of sport in advancing the national priorities of developing our people and bonding our communities.


Singapore Sports Council location map

3 Stadium Drive, Singapore 397630